Games News

Congratulations to the 2021 FAI Awards Winners

Congratulations to the 2021 FAI Awards Winners

The 2021 FAI Awards Announcement took place on Tuesday November 9th 2021 at 19:00 UTC in a livestream online video. 

In the video, which was premiered on FAI’s website, the youtube channel and the facebook page, tribute was paid to the many individuals and groups who have made exceptional performances, contributed to the development of aeronautics and astronautics, and created a lasting legacy through the promotion of air sports to new participants.

Watch the video

Manuel Roca Viaña from Spain is the winner of this year’s FAI Silver Medal, awarded for his contribution to the promotion of international air sports competition through many years of eminent service and devoted leadership within the RFAE (Royal Spanish Aeronautical Federation). He commented:

“This recognition is a great honour for me, and I will always carry it with the greatest enthusiasm. This award fills me with joy; it is a morale boost which renews and encourages, at both a personal and institutional level, my excitement and my wish to continue to contribute with the ideas, knowledge and experience that may serve in the interest of the international development of aeronautics.”

Lionel Adroit of France, winner of this year’s Henri Miguet Diploma for his amateur-built aircraft, the Handi-Montgolfière said:

“The Henri Miguet Diploma is an honour for me, one of the most significant recognitions that an amateur aircraft builder can receive for the research, the creation and the construction of an aircraft.”

Winner of the Montgolfier Ballooning Diploma for Best Performance in Hot Air Ballooning is Kimberly Magee of the USA who shared the following statement:

“It is an honour to be recognised with a Montgolfier Diploma. I am grateful to be one of eight USA female pilots to earn the World’s top ballooning honour. I hope my adventures breaking six World and nine National records at 28 years old empowers other young female pilots to embark on similar challenges, push to new heights never before achieved.”

Montgolfier Ballooning Diploma winner, Kimberly Magee

FAI President, David Monks, congratulated this year’s award winners:

“Our 2021 award winners have made it their life’s work to share the joy of flight with others, either through pushing the limits of their sport or through contributing to the promotion and development of aeronautics or astronautics.

At FAI, one of our most important roles is to recognise these outstanding performances and exceptional efforts made by individuals and groups, all of whom are part of the history, the present and the future of aviation.

Many congratulations to all tonight’s winners, and thank you all for sharing your dedication and passion with the world.”


FAI Silver Medal
Manuel ROCA VIAÑA (Spain)

FAI Group Diplomas of Honour

  • Sports Aviation Federation (Australia)
  • Aeroklub Jaroměř (Czech Republic)
  • Aero Club Ćuprija (Serbia)
  • Department of Aeronautical and Aviation Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Hong Kong Polytechnic University (Hong Kong, China)

FAI Paul Tissandier Diploma

  • Miguel Angel TERZO from Argentina
  • Ruth WILSON from Australia
  • Graeme HENDERSON from Australia
  • Bernhard REIF from Austria
  • Jacques BERLO from Belgium
  • Dan COOK from Canada
  • Eugenio MARTINEZ from Chile
  • Jiří UNZEITIG from Czech Republic
  • Miloš RAMERT from Czech Republic
  • Kimmo PAULARANTA from Finland
  • Christian RAVEL from France
  • Joachim LENK from Germany
  • Vasilis KATINIOTIS from Greece
  • Paul GIANNIOTIS from Hong Kong, China
  • Sushil BAJPAI from India
  • Pietro FILIPPINI from Italy
  • Flavio TEBALDI from Italy
  • Daiju KOHGA from Japan
  • Kyung Yong CHOI from Korea
  • Moon Tae KIM from Korea
  • Alan BEARD from New Zealand
  • Ian BEGBIE from New Zealand
  • Alexander BESSONOV from Russia
  • Anatolii ULANOV from Russia
  • Vladimir MITIN from Russia
  • Nikola BOROVAC from Serbia
  • Bengt STENER from Sweden
  • Henry LINDHOLM from Sweden
  • Pekka HAVBRANDT from Sweden
  • Charles BACHMANN from Switzerland
  • Bruno SCHERRER from Switzerland
  • Daniela SCHMITTER from Switzerland
  • Matthew BOLSHAW from United Kingdom
  • Peggy RIEDINGER from USA

FAI Awards for Individual Disciplines

Montgolfier Ballooning Diplomas:
Best Performance, Gas Ballooning: Krysztof ZAPART (Poland) and Andy CAYTON (USA)
Best Performance, Hot Air Ballooning: Kimberly MAGEE (USA)

Lilienthal Gliding Medal

Leonardo Da Vinci Parachuting Diploma
Rina GALLO (Canada)

FAI Gold Parachuting Medal
Julia ANGELOVA (Bulgaria)

FAI Aeromodelling Gold Medal
Bogdan WIERZBA (Poland)

Alphonse Pénaud Aeromodelling Diploma
Matthew HOYLAND (United Kingdom)

Antonov Aeromodelling Diploma
Karl-Heinz HELLING (Germany)

Frank Ehling Diploma
Mike COLLING (Sweden)

Ann Welch Diplomas
Paramotor – Krzysztof ROMICKI and Wojciech STRZYZAKOWSKI (Poland)
Microlight – Colin FARGHER and Louis FARGHER (France)

FAI Gold Rotorcraft Medal
David MONKS (United Kingdom)

Leon Biancotto Aerobatics Diploma
Alan CASSIDY (United Kingdom)

Henri Mignet Diploma
Lionel ADROIT (France)

Further information